66. The Unnatural City, Part I   1 comment

Meanwhile in Space…

Episode 66: The Unnatural City, Part I: An Apple a Day

Timmy sat uncomfortably in the doctor’s office waiting for the doctor to return. Per the doctor’s orders, he was wearing nothing but a hospital gown and his underwear. Sitting on the cold examiner’s table, he shivered. The air conditioner had been on since he’d been there. He rubbed his arms until they felt some semblance of warmth.

The doctor’s been gone forever, Timmy thought. What could she possibly be looking at? Ever since he got back from the trip to Deimos, he’d been worried about how the Caretakers had been able to use him as a power source. How were they able to do that? Was he some kind of freak? That question had been weighing on his mind for days. It finally drove him to visit Dr. Page.

“Well,” the doctor said as she walked back into the room. “I’m afraid I don’t have much news.” She placed a folder containing images of the body scan they had just performed. She reached and pulled the x-ray paper up and handed them to Timmy. He, then, held them up against the light. “Looking at those, you’ll see that there really wasn’t much to see. Everything looks fine.”

“But everything is not fine, doctor,” Timmy replied, holding up another sheet displaying his chest. “They were able to use me to power a massive robot!”

“Yes, you keep saying that, and I don’t see how they could have.” Dr. Page folded her arms and sighed. “With the exception of your blood tests, everything came up roses. You have a clean bill of health.”

Timmy slapped the sheets down on his lap. “What’s wrong with the blood test?”

Dr. Page’s face turned serious. “I didn’t want to scare you, but I found… something… in your blood.”

“I thought you said that everything came up roses!” Timmy was beginning to panic. His stomach was beginning to turn itself into a pretzel. He just knew something was wrong from the get go. The doctor was just trying to make him feel better before, he reasoned.

“I’m sure you’re fine,” the doctor reassured. “but I found some particles of something in your blood. It’s nothing to be alarmed about, but I’m going to keep my eye on it.”

“Cholesterol?”

Dr. Page’s look changed from serious to contemplative. “Your cholesterol is fine. There’s a metallic element in your blood that I’ve never seen before. It doesn’t appear to be poisoning you, but I really can’t make any assumptions.” She sounded like she was excited by the challenge of figuring it out. “I’m going to keep my eye on it, like I said. I’ll do a few tests and I’ll call you when I have results.”

“So, that’s it?” Timmy’s voice squeaked. “You’re going to send me off knowing that I’ve got something freakishly wrong in my blood? What kind of doctor does that?”

Just in the nick of time, Sundance knocked on the door to the office and poked his head in. “Hey there, buddy. You almost done?”

Dr. Page took this time to take the x-rays from Timmy and stuff them back into her folder. “Hello, Captain. I’m all done with him now. He’s all yours.” She ignored the worried look that Timmy had on his face and left the office.

“That’s just incredible!” Timmy muttered.

Sundance came into the room and smiled at his friend. “You look a little freaked.”

“That’s because I am a freak.” Timmy sighed and shook his head, trying to deal with the information Dr. Page had given him. “She found something in my blood that’s abnormal and she doesn’t know what it is.”

“Cholesterol?”

“No, not cholesterol, something metallic.” Timmy looked truly worried.

“Well, don’t worry about it, champ!” Sundance slapped Timmy on the shoulder heartily and laughed. “I’ve got something that will take your mind off all this. Colonel Graves has a new mission for us!”

“Of course he does,” Timmy shuddered to think of what death defying mission the colonel had in mind. The last thing he needed was something else to worry about. He didn’t voice this to Sundance because he looked so happy. One of the things Timmy admired about him was how much pleasure Sundance got from his work. That’s what made working with him so easy. “Where are we going?”

***

“Christopher City.” Colonel Graves snapped at Sgt. Harriman and an image of a map appeared on the viewscreen in the War Room. It then focused in on a dot labeled ‘Christopher City’. “We recently lost contact with our sister station this past week. I’ve tried hailing them several times, but I have heard no response.”

“We seem to be losing contact with a lot of things around here,” Sundance said, thinking back to the satellite system that went haywire due to a virus.

“Don’t I know it,” the colonel replied. He turned to Sundance and Timmy and held their shoulders. “This mission is really special because I personally handpicked this crew and I’d hate to think that something happened to them and it was my fault.”

“Of course not, sir,” Sundance said. “Timmy and I will get on this right away! Have no fear.”

“Yes, sir,” Timmy added.

Colonel Graves stood up from his command chair and stretched. “This time I’m going with you boys. I need to get the hell out of this place and get some fresh air.” Sundance and Timmy exchanged glances at the news. “Don’t make faces, it’s not polite. I know it’s been awhile since I’ve been out in the field, but I’m good for it.”

“Anything you say, Colonel,” Sundance said.

“You think dealing with Space Chickens is tough,” the colonel said, leading the way out of the war room. “I’ve got stories that will chill your very bones.”

“You can tell us all about while we pick up Astralyn,” Sundance said.

Sgt. Harriman was left standing in the doorway wondering what trouble they were going stir up this time.

Posted May 26, 2014 by Xanto P. Jones in Flash Fiction

One response to “66. The Unnatural City, Part I

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh nooo what’s in Timmys blood and should we be worried?

    And what’s Sundance getting into now?

    Just a note Xanto =- the blue writing on the black background is very hard on the eyes, not easy to read, well at least if you’re a bit older like I am ^_*

Leave a Reply

