Ellipsis: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!   1 comment

Well, as of yesterday, Meanwhile in Space… is a year old! I can’t believe that a year ago I started this serial. I can’t believe that this is still going on! And I have a great readership that I hope will expand as this series goes on.  I’m so happy! Did I think that I would still be doing this a year later? In the past, I’ve been a bit flaky with my projects. So, it was iffy when I started, but I’ve really grown to love these characters and who they’ve become as the weeks progressed.

I definitely have learned a lot about serial writing in the last year. I learned what not to do when planning arcs. I made the mistake of arc welding (see TV TROPES, but be CAREFUL!), making a year long arc. I set it up earlier, dropping subtle clues that didn’t really pay off until a year later. I tried to plan these stories so that people could easily drop in and out of, but Nanowrimo spoiled that for me.

I wrote episodes 16-65 during Nanowrimo ’10. So I had everything planned out as if it were going to be a novel that you can read like a normal book, not really thinking that people will be reading these one week at a time.  So the impact of the reveals were lessened by the fact that the set ups happened earlier in the year and were probably forgotten about (expect for the DIE HARD fans!). Going forward I know that I’m going to have to plot things out a little better.

So, if you’ve been with me all year or just started reading today, thank you for coming with me on this journey! I greatly appreciate it!

Posted September 5, 2011 by Xanto P. Jones in Writing Blog

One response to “Ellipsis: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, Happy Birthday Meanwhile in Space – I’ve certainly enjoyed what I have read. ^__^

Leave a Reply

