Ellipsis: Episode 37   Leave a comment

ALL HAIL EPISODE 37! I’ve been waiting for weeks, months for this episode. I can finally tell you what inspired this storyline! Children of the 90’s might remember a certain Milton Bradley board game called the Omega Virus… no one? Just me? Alright then. The game is about some sentient virus taking over a space station with its lasers aimed right at Earth! I’ve always wanted to do something with this concept, but I never knew how to correctly go about it. I’ve written short stories about it, I wrote a screenplay for Script Frenzy for it (which I promptly deleted). I hope you guys don’t think I’m some kind of hack. This is like a sort of fan fiction. I’m not a big believer in fan fiction, but this is alright, right?

Holy shnikes, I killed someone this episode! This is something I try not to do often in this series. Some writers get kill happy, I tend to not be because I grow so close to characters, especially these characters. I like to keep these characters around for awhile. I also try not to let them kill anyone. I like to believe that Meanwhile in Space… is a family series and should not encourage murder of any kind… There’s a line to be drawn, of course. If people are going to die, it needs to be important, not throw away. That’s just how I see it.

Next week we’ll see what Sundance has planned to defeat this virus. Stay tuned!

Thanks for reading,

XJ

Posted May 30, 2011 by Xanto P. Jones in Writing Blog

Leave a Reply

