Ellipsis: Episode 25   1 comment

We’re finally beginning to see what life was like on New Earth before the colonists arrived. This is a very exciting time for Astralyn. You can almost feel her excitement because she believes she is making history. My favourite moment is when Astralyn examines the doorway and she looks at them, Timmy and Kjartan immediately said, “No.” Poor Astralyn can’t get a break. I’m hoping that this change isn’t too jarring to those who are keeping track of Astralyn’s character. She is usually the more pragmatic one. She is the one who keeps the balance to the trio. While Sundance is ready to run off half cocked and Timmy is reticent to go anywhere, Astralyn is a mix of both. Here, she can’t wait to jump in there and see what she can find. Astralyn and Sundance seemed to have switched roles. While Sundance wasn’t chomping at the bit to get started, he didn’t dismiss the idea either.

I feel that the endings are losing their zing! During Nano, I was so worried about word count. I wanted to make sure that each episode was 1000 words each. Then I discovered that Open Office counts quotation marks as words. I have a lot of dialogue in my stories, so that means that my word count is inflated. As I go back and edit these, I’m going to see where I can add some things without disrupting the flow.

Let me know what you think!

Thanks for reading!

XJ

Posted March 8, 2011 by Xanto P. Jones in Writing Blog

One response to “Ellipsis: Episode 25

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah I wouldn’t worry so much about exact word count. Make each chapter as long as it needs to be. It’s good to have guidelines but you shouldn’t slap your wrist if you’re a few hundred (or more) in either direction. I like longer chapters, but that’s just me. 😀

Leave a Reply

