Writing Episode 20   3 comments

Ooooh! Things got sexy up in this episode! I know I always say this, but this was a fun episode to write! They’re all fun, otherwise I wouldn’t bother. I was specifically thinking of Star Trek: The Original Series when I wrote this. In this space operas, the main hero is always battling evil and while he does so, he somehow manages to lose his shirt. I wanted to play around with that. He wasn’t actually fighting, but it’s hard to rub oil on someone when they have their shirt on, you know?

What did you think about Astralyn in this episode? She seemed to be more than a little irritated with Sundance. Was it because he was enjoying himself just a little too much? Maybe she really wants to rub him down? Or maybe she’s strictly business and knows how much time he’s wasting? Oh the joys of subtext!

It’s obvious that the rubdown scene was my favourite. I really enjoyed the banter that Astralyn and Sundance were having. Thinking ahead, I’m not sure if I have enough of that and I’ll work on putting some more in. This episode definitely shows the nature of their relationship and I want to make sure it’s consistent.

I’m going to make it a point to add some additional things to each episode. Writing a large majority of this series during National Novel Writing Month, the focus of quality store took a back seat while I tried to obtain as many words as possible. Reading them over, I feel that the story might seem a little hollow. Yes, I want to obey the rules of flash fiction, but I don’t want to sacrifice the quality of the story in the process. In the future, I think I will aim for 1000-1500 words per episode to get the most out of each one.

Well, that it for me! More next week! Thanks for reading!

XJ

3 responses to “Writing Episode 20

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There’s always something we can improve on as writers, but I’m really enjoying this particular story arc regardless, serious or not! You have to start somewhere and it’s easier to start off with something fun and light than something heavy and super dramatic.

    I was giggling so much reading the “anointing” scene. I have half a mind to draw that one just for fun. 🙂

  2. I double dog dare you! LOL That was a fun scene to write!

Leave a Reply

