Writing Episode 16   2 comments

I decided that I was going to write Meanwhile in Space… for National Novel Writing Month so I took the month of October off, hoping the pent up urge to write would propel me through November. As I write this on November 30th, I can honestly say that I succeeded. I am sitting 50 newly written episodes! Ideally each episode should have 1000 words each, but during NaNo, the word count might be slightly higher, or slightly lower depending on which word processor I use. In validating MiS… on the NaNo site (ha ha nano site!) I learned that Open Office counts quotation marks as words. WHAT? I know, right? So yeah. I hope I don’t get flagged by the Flash Fiction police. No Flash Fiction obedience, no Flash Fiction powers! *cowers in fear*

So, I wrote this episode at midnight on November 1st.The Cult of the Obsidian Mask is a storyline that I’ve had in my mind since high school. The premise of a group of people worshipping a mask always enthralled me. I was going to write this in a series I was working on during high school, but no one read the later episodes I wrote, so it fell flat. I had been looking for a chance to write it and now here it is!

I am hoping that the first scene isn’t too disorienting. I wanted to let the readers know right away that this is a direct continuation from the last episode of “The Curse of the Minotaur”. I couldn’t adequately wrap up the storyline in Episode 15 the way I wanted, so I bled it over in this new storyline.

Who is the Commander? I’m not telling! 🙂

I think this is an interesting situation for Sundance because it’s a situation that he has no control over. I like to think of him as sort of a control freak. He doesn’t want to admit to anyone that he doesn’t have control of every situation, especially to Astralyn. Keep your eye on her.

Posted December 14, 2010 by Xanto P. Jones in Flash Fiction

2 responses to “Writing Episode 16

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay! I keep forgetting you wrote all of this back in November! This means you’re 50 episodes ahead of the game! 😀 That’s so cool! So what are you writing on now? Are you writing more or taking a break to work on some other writings? 😀

    I’m really pumped up for this episode. I really like the idea of Sundance having to deal with loss of control. Astralyn and Timmy are developing nicely as well!

    • I plan on writing more MiS when I can think of some more storylines. After cranking them out in November, I think my brain needed a break. I’m hoping to start writing more in January! 😀 I have thoughts of creating another series, but I might save it for next November. I got options! 😀

Leave a Reply

